“The Resemblance Between a Violin Case and a Coffin” by Tennessee Williams #39

As we age, there is always that peculiar time when we age from being children, to being young adults. For young Tom, he sees this occur to his older sister who is a couple of years older than he. She is fourteen, and is under the tutelage of Miss Aehle (pronounced Ail-ly) who is a local music teacher. Miss Aehle is that kind of person with much enthusiasm and romantic ideals about the musical capabilities of her students. Along with Tom’s sister, Aehle is also teaching the seventeen year-old violin player Richard Miles. Together, they are to play in a fall concert with much riding on their performance.

This story really has two major ideas going on at once. The first is Tom’s confusion with the sudden change in how his mom and grandmother behave toward his sister. The other is his fascination with Richard. Though he was only seventeen, Richard seemed to be a complete adult to the young twelve year-old. Both parts work well enough, and I enjoyed the writing, but when I was finished something seemed to be "off" to me. I found the comments about Tom’s perspective on his sister charming, almost humorous, but I couldn’t relate to his interest in Richard. Maybe that is what put me off about the story. Perhaps it is because I don’t remember being intrigued by older people when I was in Middle School? Nevertheless, I would like to read more Tennessee Williams. It was nice to read something that takes place in my backyard here in Knoxville, Tennessee. You can read this story in The Best American Short Stories of the Century.

Content Advisory: None

3 responses to ““The Resemblance Between a Violin Case and a Coffin” by Tennessee Williams #39

  1. Elena January 19, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    Wow, I’m a huge Tennnessee Williams fan… and I did not know you lived in Tennessee which is like, my dream place to live.

    I want to read this short story now. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Book Sightings – January | Books and Reviews

Leave a comment